All By Myself…

So, I’ve been on vacation this week. I have done a lot of sleeping and lounging around in my pajamas. Very important vacation-type stuff.

An on-going struggle for me has been my widely varying interests and intense need to pursue ALL of them. I am learning to prioritize, but on top of that, more (and by more, I mean I’ve done this a LOT) more time management. I’ve always heard and always thought it was hokey that people would ‘schedule in time for themselves’. Like, what does that mean?

For me, it is increasingly clear that means unstructured time. Time when I don’t have anything planned. I’m a planner. It’s in my job title, even, so it’s true. I have reached the limits, nay, gone beyond the limits of what Microsoft Outlook’s calendar can do for me in organizing my job, my emails, my meetings, my life.

I am structured to the max. And if I would like to continue being creative and prolific as a writer, I may have to schedule some time for myself to not do anything. I have never done this. When I am relaxing, that means I am only doing two things at once, and neither of them require my full brain juice.

Things have gotten better. I am always doing my best to improve everything, including my efficiency and time scheduling. I’m just saying I’ve got to go further. Because this vacation has been great, and I don’t want to have to wait another year before I can feel relaxed again. I’m tired of being cranky 90% of the time, and I’m running out of places to hide the bodies.

2 thoughts on “All By Myself…

Leave a Reply

