Turning Over a New Leaf

So, here is my second attempt at a public blog. I am turning over a new leaf. I didn’t know what to write about or where to start, so I’m starting by discovering myself. What I’ve learned (from extensive reading of other blogs) is that a writer has to have a good sense of who they are to write a story.

I’m still in the process of that because I have more than not always thought of myself as a conglomeration of all the things I like. If that’s true, what kind of book would that produce? It would produce a book that was very similar to Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and the Dragonriders of Pern. All of those sound very interesting, but I’m not sure I could imitate and summarize well enough to be sure you enjoyed my novel which was a hybrid of all my favorite novels instead of the novel that was uniquely me. I’ve always felt kind of uncomfortable around those people that go around telling you how they are all the time “Yeah, I’m the feisty one,” and here I am, being forced to do so just to squeeze out a little creativity.

That’s the challenge, the value added, to being a writer: your own spin, your own style, your own story. It’s really all you’ve got, and most times it seems like very little. I can’t guarantee any of this blog  will be extremely original–I read other blogs, and once I get the feel for the etiquette, I will probably link to the articles that I am learning from, but here will be what I’ve learned and my own thoughts.

So that’s why I’m SweetGreenInk. I wish I were meaner or tougher, but I’m not–I’m sweet. I live in a city where I’m a minority Greenie or ‘damn treehugger’ as I hear rather often. And I’m a writer, for better or for worse.

Leave a Reply

